There has always been an ongoing debate amongst 16-inch softball players as to whether or not gloves should be used in the game. Gloves were first introduced to the game by national teams outside of Chicago during the early 1960’s. When 12-inch softball players began playing 16-inch, they were used to handling a glove and felt not using a glove severely affected their technique. Ferris Reid, commissioner of the ASA, instituted a new rule in the 1970’s allowing teams from out of state to use gloves in national tournaments. This new rule attracted thirteen out of state teams to the ASA national tournament the year after it was put in place. While the rule helped spread fondness for 16-inch softball on a national level, Chicago players were skeptical about the increased use of gloves in local games. However, even with the gloves, only one out of state team ever beat a Chicago team in a national tournament. The question still remains though, glove or no glove?