B’ Athletes

The B’ Athletes softball team was formed in the Fall of 1992 as an alternative to the negative influences experienced in the neighborhoods where the players lived.  The team was comprised of baseball, basketball, football, and track stars from high school and college.

For many years, the team played in parks on the South and West Sides of Chicago. Eventually, they became a more experienced team and ventured farther south and west in Chicago and to the suburbs to play in more competitive leagues and tournaments. They took their lumps by playing against stiffer competition, but the exposure to semi-pro softball teams and players improved their play and confidence.  They became one of the top black sixteen-inch softball teams in the country and they qualified to play in many national championship tournaments. In 1999, they placed fifth in the ASA Major Nationals in Marshalltown, Iowa.

The B’ Athletes were the first team to win the Mike Royko Tournament in Grant Park. They received numerous invitations to play in the No-Glove Nationals at Forest Park and in the televised pro league at Forest Park. They won the Claude Rhodes Tournament and won titles at Blue Island, Garfield Park, Hamilton Park, Ogden Park, and Washington Park.

Through their history, Hall of Fame players Randy “Stretch” Lee, Michael Lee, Clayton Jones, Mike Coleman, Ken “Chicken” Hairston, Austin “Spider Ware and Hall of Fame managers Sherman Martin, Jr. and Floyd Glover wore the B’Athlete colors.

B/Athletes Roster

Javon Austin Freddie Hopkins Michael McToy
Dorian Bolton Anthony Jackson Michael Price
Howard Bowling Cody Jackson James Rodgers
Vernon Cade Garland Jackson Walter Rodgers
Carl Carter Renard Jackson John Smith
* Michael Coleman * Clayton Jones Cornelius Spencer
Percy Coleman Eric Jones Keith Stallings
Michael Colvan Ernest Jones Darren Stewart
James Daniels * Michael Lee Pierre Walker
Curtis Durns * Randy Lee * Austin Ware
Nathaniel Earley Westley Lee Raymond Warren
Randy Ellis Ricardo Ligon Tracy Watkins
* Floyd Glover Ron Mack William Weatherspoon
* Ken Hairston Marvin Martin, Jr. Michael Webb
Michael Hamilton Maurice Martin, Sr. Leroy White
Robbie Harris * Sherman Martin, Jr. Jeffrey Henry
Gregory McGinnis

* denotes Hall of Fame member